I am back at home and finally into the swing of summer. My domestic side has been slow to develop, but I am finally getting a hang of it. Despite starting summer classes and gaining more hours at work, I am making my domestic tasks a larger priority during my day. . In an attempt for order I am installing a cleaning schedule, starting Sunday, inspired by Home Ec 101. My daily cleaning routine, up until now, was … non-existent.  I would clean on the weekends, when I had time, but cleaning all week in short increments never really occurred to me! Now that I have successfully regimented this system for about a week, I cannot see how I lived without it. It keeps everything much more orderly without the looming stress of a day of cleaning. I even enjoy many facets of housekeeping usually ignored or begrudged about. Laundry, for instance, a previously dreadful chore, quickly became my new favorite household chore. Folding laundry is actually super relaxing.

Speaking of relaxing, I have just finished a book called Home Economics: Vintage Advice and Practical Science for the 21st Century Household. My passion for reading has finally done me some good! While reading this little green literary work of genius, I uncovered many different aspects of housekeeping most teenagers/college students have no clue existed. One chapter pertains to the need for budgeting. Budgeting, as in writing and tracking all your expenses, then knowing your allowance for a month, is a foreign concept to a college kid. We tend to think any money that we earn or is given is to be used for partying, anything we need to function outside that will come at a separate time. Gaining responsibilities, such as caring for an apartment and a car, which were previously taken care of for me,  has taught me that many of these old-fashioned ideas are more than useful in modern life, they are necessary to live comfortably.

After calculating my last two months of expenditures, I spent over $300 in eating out one month, a$200 on “fun” stuff, and $250 in gasoline. I know many of this is unnecessary. I have a full stocked kitchen, but am often ‘too tired,’ rather too lazy, to cook myself a meal. I drive to my girlfriends houses, which are all within a reasonable walking distance to mine, as well as to school, work, and my boyfriends every weekend (his college is 400 miles away round trip). I can not justify spending all that money on things that are not completely necessary. So this month I am taking the bus to school, walking to my girlfriends houses, and planning a few extended trips to see my boyfriend (instead of visiting every weekend). I have stopped eating out completely, consequently not only is it better on my pocket, but also my waistline! These efforts have been successful thus far, but the end of the month will yield the real results. In my efforts to better my domestic side, I am on the hunt for any other Home Economics books, guides, how-to’s, and other reading material. Any suggestions?

On to bigger and softer things! I crocheted a scarf for my boyfriend for Christmas. It was my first completed crafty project! Granted it is simple, but as learned from my sublimely domestic sister, the simple things are often the best. I finally mastered the simple granny square, and am attempting to create an afghan. I need 64 squares and I have completed 24!

Funny word afghan, I always think of Theresa when I hear it, read it, speak it. Theresa does not know what a blanket is there are only spreads (a.k.a. a comforter or duvet) or afghans (a blanket or throw).

Afgans await!

Alyce

